Social Studies

Social Studies Courses Offered:

World History (7th)*: Students in the 7th grade study the social, political, economic, cultural, and religious changes that occurred throughout the world during the period between 27 B.C.E. and C.E. 1780. After reviewing the ancient world and the ways in which archaeologists and historians uncover the past, students study the history and geography of the great civilizations of Rome, China, Japan, Africa, The Middle East, Medieval /Early Modern Europe, as well as the Latin American empires of the Maya, Aztec and Inca. Throughout the year, students will develop geographic literacy, reading, and writing skills, with an emphasis on understanding cause and effect relationships, trends, and repetitive themes in history. The program is closely aligned to the 8th grade history curricula so that students will also examine the development of democratic ideas from tyranny/absolutism to representational forms of government.
*Also offered at Honors Level

American History (8th)*: The course follows the development of the United States political system by tracing the growth of its governmental institutions, historical problems, conflicts, and current issues. Beginning with an overview of American history from the arrival of the first Americans to the end of the Revolutionary War, students will begin an in-depth study of the American Constitution, Manifest Destiny, Slavery, the Civil War and Reconstruction, the rise of Industrialism, and Progressivism. Throughout the course, emphasis will be placed on the contributions of many minority groups which make up the American people.  
*Also offered at Honors Level

Staff:

Kareem Battle
Teacher Social Studies, AVID
kbattle@sbunified.org

Ed Behrens
Teacher
ebehrens@sbunified.org

Leo Borden
Teacher Social Studies
lborden@sbunified.org

Kristin Pettit
Teacher Social Studies, AVID
Kpettit@sbunified.org

Christine Schettler
Teacher Social Studies
cschettler@sbunified.org

William Zeledon
Teacher Social Studies
wzeledon@sbunified.org